Silence is my frenemy

But Jesus often withdrew to lonely places and prayed.

– Luke 5:16

There are times when I love silence. When I can focus on God and listen to what He wants to tell me. When people sit quietly with me and listen to my pain. Their silent presence gives me space to think, room to feel, time to reflect on my issues and gather strength for the next battle.

There are times when I hate silence. When God asks me to wait. When I volunteer my struggle and there is no reply. When people shrink back in fear rather than ask how they can draw closer. When people say “I’ll pray for you” and walk away.

To me, silence can signal absolute acceptance or devastating rejection, depending on when and how it is offered. (Click to tweet)

What’s your relationship with silence? Friend? Enemy? Or both?

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

What's your view?

