Their darkest hour

I sit here in the midst of tears. My heart goes out to the relatives of those who are on Malaysian Airlines flight MH370.

I’m confused at their inexplicable loss. I’m angry at the exploitation of the mourning relatives at the hands of intrusive journalistic photographers. I still hold out hope that the passengers may be found alive, even though I know it is increasingly unlikely with each passing day.

Reading the reports of tears and anger, frustration and grief, I cannot help but cry out to God and ask Him how we can possibly make peace with such meaningless loss. How can we make sense of the death of loved ones?

One thing I know is that until we walk in these people’s shoes, we cannot know the pain of grieving a body that has not been found, the strain of mourning under the scrutiny of the world’s media.

Lord, I pray You bring mercy and compassion on all who cry out to You in their darkest hour, on all who are grieving in the world for someone they have lost. Remind us to not offer trite explanations like Elijah’s friends, or presume to know more about the world than You.

Most of all, may we never give up looking to You, our Father, for all things. We know that when we grieve our lost loves in this cruel and unforgiving world, You are in our midst grieving with us.

 

Can a mother forget the baby at her breast
    and have no compassion on the child she has borne?
Though she may forget,
    I will not forget you!
See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands;
    your walls are ever before me.

Isaiah 49:15-16

Tagged: , , , , , ,

What's your view?

