Putting out the light

Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house.

– Matthew 5:15

Say the word ‘shame’ and most of us can easily think of a memory that brings us out into a hot, prickly sweat. Shame is the main reason why I don’t allow myself to be as vulnerable as I could be.

When I think about shame, I wonder who I’ve belittled or humiliated through my careless words or actions. It hurts to know I may have shamed people in order make myself seem more important than I really am.

Are you trying to outshine someone by casting them in shadow? Whose light might you be putting under a bowl?

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Putting out the light

  1. my life April 4, 2014 at 8:26 am Reply

    I have just read this and thought about the things that I feel shame full about I have so many I have done so many stubid things in my life x

    • vulnerablechristian April 4, 2014 at 11:23 am Reply

      Hi,

      Thanks for sharing. Speaking out despite feeling ashamed is brave and important x

  2. […] affirms my God-given worth. This increases my confidence and as a happy by-product, my ‘light’ shines brighter to […]

What's your view?

