Bugable and hugable

It’s easy to love the loveable people in our lives and so hard to love the ones who ‘bug’ us. Sometimes I have to bite my tongue when I’m around someone who irritates me.

Yet God calls all of us who follow Him to love others. It’s His second greatest command. And what better reason to dig deeper into our reserves of love and grace and generosity than to remember that we constantly receive God’s favour despite our own sinful and undeserving ways.

Yep, even if we have the best of intentions, we are often hypocritical, judgemental and downright selfish. But even though God sees all of our ‘bugable’ qualities, amazingly He opens his arms to us time after time after time. Amazing love!

The truth is, I often feel more bugable than hugable. It’s such a relief and a joy when people welcome me and accept me despite our differences. In fact, when people embrace me in such a way, their love-in-action affirms my God-given worth. This increases my confidence and as a happy by-product, my ‘light’ shines brighter to others.

Look for the hugable, not just the bugable, in the people you meet. (Click to tweet) Everyone needs to be reminded that they have worth in God’s eyes.

We love because He first loved us.
– 1 John 4:19

(Click to tweet this verse)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

What's your view?

