Why I struggle with my church

by Rod Anderson, The Christian Post

I have a confession to make – I really struggle with my church.

I know we’re all broken people, I know we’re all trying to follow Christ and love each other and we’re going to make mistakes. Yes, I do know this.

But there are times when I get so tired of seeing the old patterns emerge again and again, and this is one of those times. It’s as if we’re stubbornly and pridefully refusing to learn from our mistakes.

(Click to tweet this verse)

I hear the same complaints over and over from one church member to another – hypocrisy, gossip, lack of communication, too quick to condemn, too slow to forgive or too self-important to listen.

Yes, I am part of this messy, flawed and vulnerable body. But while I’d love to talk about how we can move forward, there are many who would rather complain and do nothing, or stick their head in the sand and pretend we’re all right. There are those who prefer to skate precariously on the surface and hope that a smile and a Biblical verse will smooth everything over. And all the while, we continue to repeat the same old mistakes together.

I’m tired of hearing empty words about the things we should do as Christians. I’m tired of making the effort to listen and to apologise for my mistakes, of trying to get along peaceably with others, while others express little desire to offer grace to their brothers and sisters, or refuse to examine their own actions from time to time. I accept we all make mistakes, but what I can’t swallow is our reluctance to admit them and learn from them together.

And of course, in saying all this, I feel guilty. I feel as though I’m a traitor. But if we cannot openly share our need as a family for growth and self-reflection and affirmation and authenticity to one other with the humblest of servant-hearts, then what hope is there for us to thrive as a church and as a community in Christ?

The Barna Group polled a group of American people and asked them ‘what helps you grow in your faith’? Answers included prayer, reading the Bible, family and friends… but none of the top 10 answers featured the word ‘church’. How sad that Christians, myself included, may not feel that our church is a safe or key environment in which to be firmly rooted and growing in faith.

I’m sure this is a subject I’ll come back to time and again, but for now I choose to press on and remind myself that whatever discouragement I might feel at times, that God is bigger than me and bigger than the church.

Yes, my hope should never rest on others but always on the Lord Himself. (Click to tweet)

And how about you? How do you feel about your church?

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Why I struggle with my church

  1. rmwk100 April 9, 2014 at 9:30 am Reply

    Sending sympathy! All churches are made up of imperfect human beings, all at different stages of faith development and personal maturity. It’s a place to learn, and to set an example, by dealing with all problems with courage, love and assertiveness. Just keep praying, and working at it! None of us is anything like perfect XXXXXXXXXX

  2. vulnerablechristian April 10, 2014 at 12:16 pm Reply

    Thanks for your comment! How do you feel about your church? 🙂

What's your view?

